Skip to main content


Fremont PTA

The Parent-Teacher Association (PTA) is a national organization dedicated to advancing the cause of quality education for all children in the United States. The overall purpose of PTA is to make every child’s potential a reality by engaging and empowering families and communities to advocate for all children. National PTA is composed of 55 state congresses and nearly 26,000 local units in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, U.S. Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico, and the Department of Defense Schools in Europe and the Pacific.

Fremont’s PTA is a local unit within the Glendale Unified PTA Council, the California State PTA and the National PTA. The Fremont PTA serves as a forum where parents, teachers, administrators and other concerned adults discuss ways to promote quality education, strive to expand the arts, encourage community involvement, and work for a healthy environment and safe neighborhoods. The Fremont PTA then puts those ideas into action, abiding by the rules and requirements of the national organization. 

The Fremont PTA Executive Board includes the Principal, a Teacher Representative, the Membership Chairperson, the Art Docent Chairperson, and the following elected officers: President, 1st VP Assemblies, 2nd VP Hospitality, 3rd VP Fundraising, Secretary, Treasurer, Auditor, Parliamentarian and Historian.

Every person who joins Fremont’s PTA automatically becomes a member of both the California and National PTAs. These organizations have lobbyists working at national, state and local levels to advocate for children's issues. Many of the benefits our children receive today, such as Kindergarten, school lunches and child labor laws, are the result of PTA’s work over its more than 100-year history. When you join the PTA you become part of a powerful network of almost 5 million people who advocate on behalf of children all over the United States. 

Fremont is grateful to the thousands of volunteers who worked as PTA Board Members and Chairpersons since the Fremont PTA’s beginning in 1925, helping to create the wonderful school we have today. The Presidents we have listed here are representative of hundreds of volunteers who gave their time, talents, ideas and heart each year to make Fremont a better place.


Fremont PTA Presidents

  • 2022-2024 - Melissa Moulton Church (CURRENT)
  • 2020-2022 - Jane Yang
  • 2019-2020 - Stacy Clark
  • 2017-2019 - Diana Keeney
  • 2016-2017 - Tracy Leventhal
  • 2014-2016 - Lorna Simon
  • 2012-2014 - Betsy Wilbur
  • 2011-2012 - Amy Harley
  • 2009-2011 - Paige Farmer
  • 2008-2009 - Ann Beachey-Kemp
  • 2006-2008 - Renee Brandt
  • 2004-2006 - Leslie Wallace
  • 2002-2004 - Katherine Wallace
  • 2000-2002 - Denise Fellows
  • 1999-2000 - Robyn Penniall
  • 1997-1999 - Jessica Hueter
  • 1996-1997 - Shelly Rawlins
  • 1994-1996 - Lynn Gambino
  • 1992-1994 - Karen Ostash
  • 1990-1992 - Debby Frank